Feedback from a fellow game designer

Hi guys,

Took a bunch of notes today and wanted to dump em here. I'm a game designer myself, so I'll try to focus more on big-picture stuff rather than the small nitpicks and other problems that will work themselves out as you improve the art/sound/interaction/etc.. Overall, I think there are some very good innovations in the design, but I do have some concerns.

First off, I wanted to mention my initial impression, which was actually very negative. I was super excited for Atlas, but after watching Sean's intro video, I felt really let down. My idea of the game went from "squad-based RTS with lots of secondary objectives on the map" to "Oh, it's basically League of Legends with a splash of RTS elements". Now, I've probably played about 5k hours of Brood War and SC2, which I feel set the bar as far as RTS is concerned. I've never enjoyed MOBA-type games much, mostly because I feel that they're as wide as an ocean and shallow as a puddle... or rather because their depth comes mostly as a result of complexity rather than actual strategic depth.

I don't know how representative I am of a typical strategy game fan, but it felt crystal clear to me that your design goals were focused around appealing to the more casual MOBA fanbase, with heroes (exactly what I didn't like about Warcraft 3), and team-based games (ugh), and what I assume will be a free-to-play business model based around having a huge variety of heroes/squads available. These are all fine design choices, and I think you have a good chance of doing very well with them, but I personally felt very let down upon finding out about them.