Thoughts

TekkyTekky Member

I am still very new to this game. These thoughts and opinions are very likely to change as I play more.

I really enjoy the resource management system, even though I haven't been brave enough to turn off auto-queuing just yet. There's always a choice to be made, and I like that.

I'm having issues with the audio/visual feedback in the game. During my very first bot games, I ended up losing my entire army several times. I'd be looking around the map a bit, check a building or two, and when I'd scroll back to my army... it would be gone. I never even realized I was being attacked. As I've played more, I've gotten more used to always keeping track of my units. However, I do feel like there's something missing when it comes to feedback.

I have yet to really grasp which units or what abilities to look out for. This is of course always true for someone who is new to a game, but perhaps there's more to it as well. I'm not really feeling the "impact" of the units. In the middle of a battle, I only hear a bunch of "pew pew" or "pow pow" sounds. I have a very hard time quickly deciding if something is hurting me or not. It's getting better the more I play, but I really think there could be more distinct cues. The orbital strike of Celesta has a nice big red circle. The volley of Eris is pretty visible as well. However, I always feel like I was never warned about these abilities. I guess I'm expecting some kind of "nuclear launch detected" noise, so I can panic the sh*t out and make micro errors. Instead, I mainly feel frustrated. Because by the time I realize what's going on, it's almost always too late.

The only other thing I instantly felt I was missing was some kind of "ping wheel". Something similar to the smart pings in League of Legends or the action wheel in Overwatch. Since this is a team game, I want to be able to quickly tell my team mates what I am doing without having to type up a sentence. Team work feels super important.

Comments