First Impressions / Feedback

hyperionhyperion Member
edited March 4 in Feedback

I'll be fishing around the forums and posting feedback and thoughts throughout, but I thought I'd just post my feedback in my own separate thread as I think I have quite a bit.

I'll start off to say that I'm an automation/systems engineer in the industry and have a ton of respect for the small hints of how the game was built and developed in the blog posts. I hope that some day we can get past the browser limitations, but I would understand if it didn't happen. This inspired me to learn a ton more about HTML5 and CoffeeScript in the hopes of building something half as cool as Atlas some day. I'd be interested to know more details about the development and deployment of this game in your blog or here on the forums, but I would understand if you wouldn't want to divulge too much more.

For general positive feedback:
-The art style is very cool. The UI is simple and effective, it fits well
-The non-big-ball army engagements for gems feels awesome and is a large change from what I'm used to
-I love the merge of MOBA mechanics that I love, such as towers/"Nexus" and items, with RTS elements of expanding, building units, etc
-Having the ability to use all squad abilities from the same box select is AWESOME and is my favorite thing about Atlas so far. I play a lot of Chen-like heroes in DoTA 2 or other MOBAs, which requires more miscellaneous micro to use your "squad"'s abilities in a proficient manner
-Atlas ran well at 4K at around 80 FPS max graphics and my PC isn't the hottest thing around. Obviously the system requirements may change as more is added, but it was cool to have a pre-alpha game run so well
-I love the macro of the game. I feel like it's approachable and not overbearing. Its presence is well balanced with the other mechanics of the game