Bot Play and First Impressions [TW2 Megathread]

EricEric Member, Administrator
edited April 14 in Feedback

How was your first experience in Atlas playing against bots? Did they help you learn the game? Were they fun to play against? Were you confused about anything at the end of your first game?

When providing feedback, please use the following format:

• X happened
  • It made me feel Y (or I’d like to feel Y)
  • (optional) Here’s a suggestion to improve it

Comments

• OrtsacOrtsac Member

Playing my first game as an RTS noob I felt confused about what to spend my resources on and what my focus should be to ramp my economy. In particular I had amassed a large amount of scrap at one point and didn't know what I could buy with it.

I suspect a proper tutorial would go a long way here, and that you guys are working on it, but as a short term solution maybe some "tooltip tutorials" to point out recommended upgrades or strategies would help new players.

• Played my first game against bots.
    Initial impression was that there are a lot of things happening at once in a 3v3 game and it was a little overwhelming at times.
    I was starved for gems at one point when I wanted to build an expansion and was frustrated when I didn't know where to go to farm them (I learned to figure out what the little blips on the minimap mean though).
    I would get into fights with other armies and get wrecked without really knowing what had happened or which units were outputting the most damage. It would be nice to see health and damage numbers.
    I spent what felt like a lot of time walking around the map and was bored. A tighter map or faster move speed would be nice.